«

»

Aug 30

Watching Edie by Camilla Way

Share Button

I received this book as part of my involvement with Netgalley. All thoughts are my own. This post contains affiliate links.
watchingedie

Watching Edie

by Camilla Way

 

Synopsis:


For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train: A dazzling work of psychological suspense that weaves together the past and present of two women’s twisted friendship.

Beautiful, creative, a little wild… Edie was the kind of girl who immediately caused a stir when she walked into your life. And she had dreams back then—but it didn’t take long for her to learn that things don’t always turn out the way you want them to.

Now, at thirty-three, Edie is working as a waitress, pregnant and alone. And when she becomes overwhelmed by the needs of her new baby and sinks into a bleak despair, she thinks that there’s no one to turn to…

But someone’s been watching Edie, waiting for the chance to prove once again what a perfect friend she can be. It’s no coincidence that Heather shows up on Edie’s doorstep, just when Edie needs her the most. So much has passed between them—so much envy, longing, and betrayal. And Edie’s about to learn a new lesson: those who have hurt us deeply—or who we have hurt—never let us go, not entirely…

 

My review:

I signed up to review Watching Edie when I saw it compared to The Girl on the Train (even though I haven’t read that book yet).  So I can’t tell you how the two are the same but I can tell you that this is a good read.  I started and finished this one in one day so if you’re looking for a quick weekend read, this is it.

It was bit disorienting at first to have the after (now) narration done by Edie while the before (the time they spent together as teens) was narrated by Heather.  However, after a few switches, I figured it out.

We spend the entire book trying to find out what Edie did to Heather to cause her such mental issues.  When we finally do find out, it’s pretty gruesome and explains a lot.  However, I have to defend Edie a bit as she was an abused, neglected girl who partnered up with the wrong guy.  I don’t know how I would have acted in her situation but I can’t say the right response would be so easy and clear.

Watching Edie brings to question the issue of whether children can be inherently evil or if they’re a product of their environment.  It also points out how one’s teenage years really do sculpt a person’s adult life.  With the bullying that goes on everywhere, we have to wonder what’s going to happen to the kids that slip through the cracks.

If you want a fast page-turner, pick up Watching Edie by Camilla Way.  You can find it from various booksellers like Amazon.com.

 

Share Button

3 comments

  1. 3
    shannon fowler

    this sounds like a great thriller! i look forward to reading it although i’ll need to do it during the day time or i probably won’t be able to sleep.

  2. 2
    LaVonne

    Sounds like a thriller! Thanks for such a great review!

  3. 1
    shelly

    This sounds like something I don’t want to read before I go to sleep! lol

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>